Author Topic: motor mounts  (Read 373 times)

Offline wedge

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Master 6x6'er
  • *****
  • Posts: 1339
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Run it like a Big Block !
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2018, 06:34:51 PM »
Puts a lot of Vibration in the machine.
3, Amphicat. 1, StarCraft. 1, Max 2 And Counting

Offline snaps10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • 6x6'er
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2018, 02:03:55 PM »
Iíve got mine hard mounted to a unistrut frame I built. Is it bad to hard mount these v-twins?

Offline garretttpe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full 6x6'er
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2018, 07:23:22 PM »
Picture of my mounts, this was a weird angle, the threads in the middle of the mount are long enough for the engine and 2 thick washers, my nut and 2 threads extruding the end of the nut..

Offline garretttpe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full 6x6'er
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2018, 11:31:31 AM »
MSafi65
Yes I re installed the front bumper

Whipper
I prob tossed them, the mounts I installed where the same bolt config as the originals just a larger diameter. Maybe I am over thinking it and all is fine, I will try to take a pic of them today and show you all.

 

Offline Msafi65

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • 6x6'er
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2018, 11:19:41 PM »
Did you install the adjustable bumper at front left on top of the frame? It slows the mounts to flex but not move to far toward transmission to change belt geometry. I believe itís still available. 

Offline whipperag

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Sr. 6x6'er
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: motor mounts
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2018, 08:08:50 PM »
I wouldínt use the UHMW, itís to hard and wouldínt flex at all.
I would just order the factory stock mounts:
Thatís all I have in Bridgetís SS and they seem to be fine without any problems.
When you did the overhaul what did you do with the old stock ones?
New ones will just bolt right up.
 popcorn popcorn
 banana dance dance banana
Whipperag

Offline garretttpe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full 6x6'er
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
motor mounts
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2018, 05:33:06 PM »
3 years ago when I overhauled my Max I use rubber engine mounts that were twice the diameter of the original ones, same thickness, they seem to flex more than I would like, or maybe the engine is supposed to. I am thinking about now using 6 blocks of UHWM (I have a bunch of blocks)to keep the engine from flexing. would this shake the machine to much? or should I just order the stock mounts?